sequel to “Storm Chaser” in planning stage

While Beth Hamlin seems to be the most popular secondary character from Storm Chaser, I have a
plot bunny that just won’t leave me alone, involving another secondary
character: Fran, the State Police Detective who befriends Allie and will appear
in two of the stories in Storm
Chaser Shorts
. After some thought, I’ve decided the sequel (working
title: Storm Damage)
will feature Fran, although Beth will also be there as a supporting character.
If my idea works out and the sequel is popular, the second book will lead into
a third book that Beth would headline.

The short story I’ve been working on introduces a new character, who will
become an important part of Storm
Damage
: Allie Craine’s brother, who’s mentioned only briefly in the
original story. Here’s what Allie has to say about him, when she interrupts an
argument between two other people:

“Oh,
bull. First of all, my brother’s an ingrate who wrote that book because he
can’t hold down a job, or keep his mouth shut. Second, if you two cared, you
wouldn’t be leaning over my bed spitting on me.”

Well, we’ll just have to see if he’s an ingrate, won’t we? The story will be
coming soon to my Facebook fan page.

As for Fran, recently I was reviewing Storm
Chaser Shorts,
when I realized that in one of the stories her name
is Fran Vargas, and in another it’s Fran Mendoza. Oops … I guess her name now
is Fran Vargas-Mendoza. Just goes to show, you can’t polish too much, or have
two many other eyes to look over your work. Guess I’ll go over that short story
a bit more.

Yes, the Storm Chaser Shorts manuscript has already been turned in to my publisher. *sigh*

 

Meanwhile, Storm Chaser remains available at www.markrhunter.com,
www.whiskeycreekpress.com, amazon.com, and fictionwise.com.

This entry was posted in Writing by markrhunter. Bookmark the permalink.

About markrhunter

My debut novel, Storm Chaser, a contemporary romantic comedy set in rural Indiana, was released by Whiskey Creek Press in June, 2011. Since then I've also published its sequel, "The Notorious Ian Grant"; a related collection of short stories, "Storm Chaser Shorts"; a YA humor-adventure, "The No-Campfire Girls"; and two local history books, "Smoky Days and Sleepless Nights" and "Images of America: Albion and Noble County". My humor column, “Slightly Off the Mark,” has been published for over twenty years. I live in a small northeast Indiana town with my wife, our dog Bae, and a cowardly ball python named Lucius. I have two daughters and twin two-year-old grandsons, and I'm employed as a dispatcher for the Noble County Sheriff’s Department—a day job that I ironically work at night. I'm safety officer, instructor, and public information officer for the Albion Volunteer Fire Department, and when not writing I laugh hysterically at the notion of having spare time.

10 thoughts on “sequel to “Storm Chaser” in planning stage

  1. I loved Beth in the first book and in the short stories. She was cool. She was a typical teenager, but seemed “wiser”…she knew when Allie and Chase were falling in love before they even did.

    Of course, it has nothing to do with her name or anything like that… 😉

  2. I loved all the characters in your first book. They were all warm and endearing. And, I can remember each one by name. They were all like family to me. I know. I’m a weirdo.

    • Oh, not weird! Actually, my fiancee and I were discussing just today how all my characters seem to be “joiners” — people who like to get involved, make friends, form families and such. Emily tends to write characters who are more loners, so we had a nice discussion about the differences.

    • She is, isn’t she? Fran kind of sneaked up on me; she wasn’t supposed to have as big a part in the book as she ended up with. That’s not uncommon, when it comes to me and supporting characters, but I don’t think Fran would have given me a choice.

    • I think so too; hyphenated names are fairly common in Mexican families, so it seems to fit. Still, I’d like to have known I was going to do that ahead of time!

Leave a Reply

