A Writer’s Schedule

*Written by Shelly Arkon*

When I tell others I’m a writer, I sometimes get responses like “Oh, you mean you’re unemployed” or “You play on the computer all day.”  If they only knew how hectic my life really is.

I’m one of those writers who has a job. A forty hour week full of hair cuttery with flexible hours. Of course those hours are only advantageous to the employer. I work when they determine. My hours are never the same and are apt to change daily without notice.

I also have a husband who doesn’t cook for himself. Nor does he do the kitchen clean-up, or the majority of the housework. For the most part, he’s pretty helpless and requires other kinds of attention. Yeah. I have to do that, too.

And then, there are the dogs, Sir Poops-A-Lot and Hair Ball. If SPAL doesn’t make it outside to do his business, he uses the tile in the masterbath. This means walking him ALOT. If HB doesn’t get to play fetch, he chews holes in the carpet and barks way too much for my nerves to bare. Plus, they can’t feed themselves or pour themselves something to drink.  Guess who caters to them.

Oh, and can’t forget my daughters. I’ve got five. The oldest being twenty-six and the youngest being sixteen. The full moon hovers over our house daily. Rain or shine. Night or day. It doesn’t matter. There’s always some crisis happening in one of their lives.

And, I’ve got grandbabies to visit, too.

Not to mention, I attend a critique group. There’s always someone’s manuscript in need of reading and editing.

And of course, there are my WIPs, blog writing, reading other blogs, novel reading,  and book reviews to write. Gee, am I leaving anything out?

OMG. I do believe I wore myself out just by writing about the little increments of my life.  The heart palpitations are coming on. Anxiety has arrived. The room is spinning around me. My hands went clammy.

You see, I’m one of those peeps who needs a written schedule to follow. If I don’t, I get overwhelmed and make myself nuts. That’s when I end up on the couch flipping through channels ignoring my writing committments.

When I write things down and allot certain time limits to each task, my head cools down. My day goes much easier and I get to keep every strand of hair on my head.

So are you a scheduler or total chaotic maniac?

*Shelly was unable to access the WMD blog, so she went through my wordpress path*

This entry was posted in Writing by Beth Muscat. Bookmark the permalink.

About Beth Muscat

I'm a wife, mother, writer and a blogger. I have five novels published at Amazon.com and a couple more in the works right now. I've got so many great friends that have helped me achieve my writing goals, and I've still got a lot to learn. They're all terrific people, some of them bestselling authors and some just starting out like me. I've got five books out as e-books: 1. "Wildflower" is a Contemporary Romance, a sexy love story about a younger man and an older woman 2. "Remember The Eyes" is a Paranormal Romance, and Book One in a series. 3. "Nothing Without You" is Book Two 4. "Infinite", is Book Three. Each book revolves around Riley and Michael, the love they share together and even the discoveries made with each other. 5. "The Bracelet", a Fantasy Romance about a woman torn between two worlds.

14 thoughts on “A Writer’s Schedule

  1. I think we’re all so busy…it’s hard to find the time to get everything done that we HAVE to do but also want to get everything done that we WANT to do too. I also work a 40 hour work week, and work weekends, holidays, nights and days…plus I have an 8 year old and a hubby. Cooking, cleaning, trying to put the house of for sale. It’s just a matter of doing what you can when you can. Right now, I tend to do most of my work (oops) at work…especially when I’m on midnights. Days it’s not quite so easy. But, work motivates me because I don’t want to work anymore. I just want to write. If only I’d found myself a rich guy.

    Oh, and I don’t schedule anything. I just write when I can.

  2. Shelly, I’m tired just reading about your life. How do you do it? I had to quit and move away from civilization to be able to really write. Then I saw you in the hat and you reminded me of Carole Lombard. In other words, you do all that stuff with SPAL/HB, Sweetman, grand-kids and cutlery while looking gorgeous! 🙂 Amazing!

    • Eve: That’s like asking me how I managed to go to college full time, work three part time jobs, and raise five daughters. I haven’t a clue but I did it.

      Thank you for the compliment.

  3. I used to carry a notebook with me everywhere. And a day planner. And an accordion folder for research. And my WIPs.

    Now I carry everything on my Android phone. Plus eighty percent of my library, my music, photos, contracts, press kit, royalty statements…shall I go on?

  4. I’m a little bit of both. I like a bit of a schedule. For instance, I always, always, always write SOMETHING when I get off work in the evenings. But I don’t like to look at the clock and say, “Oh gosh, it’s whatever-o’clock. Pull out the notebook!” As long as I get some writing done in the evening, a good two-hours worth, I’m good.

  5. You know, Shelly, you’re doing better than you think. How many so-called writers are always whining about not having time to do everything they need to do to build a real career? You’re not a whiner. You just keep pushing on….

  6. I start each day out with a fresh schedule. Impressed? phh. I never get through the schedule. By evening, I’m typing like crazy because somewhere along the day someone needed me and my schedule starts falling behind.

  7. I absolutely have to schedule things, or they simply don’t get done. It’s hard for me to find balance. I get excited about a new project and want to quit everything else to focus on that one thing, so I’m always forcing myself to get done what I can and move onto the next thing.

  8. I used to work 70 hours a week and I had a desk calendar with everything written on it plus Post It notes everywhere. Then I lost my job, so now I only have two Post It notes that say, “Find new job!” and “Keep writing!”

  9. I definitely understand. I have 2 jobs and I’m pursuing a PhD. I tuck writing in there somewhere. Funny enough, I have some people who think I’m rich because I won a few awards. Yeah . . . right. I’ve earned enough to maybe buy a value meal at Wendy’s except I’m on Weight Watchers so that’s not even going to work.

Leave a Reply

