fanfiction writing award nomination

It’s been awhile since I had time to write fanfiction, but I’ve received an award nomination for a Buffy the Vampire Slayer fic I wrote earlier. “She Would be Thirteen” is a Xander-centric story, set about a year after the end of the TV series, and you can find it here:

http://good–evil.livejournal.com/176650.html

Is fanfiction “real” writing? Well, it’s not profitable: It’s technically illegal, although many movie/TV/book creators condone or even support it. Like self-published fiction, some of it is awful and some of it is among the best writing I’ve ever seen. For me, it was a fun exercise, and a chance to tell a good story without worrying about the pressure of getting it published.

Thanks so much to whoever nominated me in the “That Old Gang Of Mine” category, over at the Wicked Awards! On their LiveJournal site you can read lots of other excellent stories, in various fandoms, that were also nominated:

http://wicked-awards.livejournal.com/21528.html

This entry was posted in Awards, Writing by markrhunter. Bookmark the permalink.

About markrhunter

My debut novel, Storm Chaser, a contemporary romantic comedy set in rural Indiana, was released by Whiskey Creek Press in June, 2011. Since then I've also published its sequel, "The Notorious Ian Grant"; a related collection of short stories, "Storm Chaser Shorts"; a YA humor-adventure, "The No-Campfire Girls"; and two local history books, "Smoky Days and Sleepless Nights" and "Images of America: Albion and Noble County". My humor column, “Slightly Off the Mark,” has been published for over twenty years. I live in a small northeast Indiana town with my wife, our dog Bae, and a cowardly ball python named Lucius. I have two daughters and twin two-year-old grandsons, and I'm employed as a dispatcher for the Noble County Sheriff’s Department—a day job that I ironically work at night. I'm safety officer, instructor, and public information officer for the Albion Volunteer Fire Department, and when not writing I laugh hysterically at the notion of having spare time.

Leave a Reply

