Don’t Expect Miracles

It's not a race.

Doctors, lawyers and some other professionals go to school for a very long time, getting degrees and diplomas, etc. before they can actually call themselves professional. So why do some people think that they can just spit out a book in a couple of weeks or a month and call themselves an author?

I didn’t take any formal writing classes, but I did read a few “how-to” kind of books when I first decided to start writing. Some were helpful, while others were just downright confusing. One book would say that you should start every chapter with some dialogue, to suck the reader right in, while another one might say that you should get all descriptive about the characters and the setting at the very beginning. Finally when I started writing, I just had to go with what sounded good to me.

When I wrote my first book, “Remember The Eyes”, it wasn’t called that. It was originally called, ‘Found Love’, and it was strictly in my main female’s voice. But, then I wrote the second novel, “Nothing Without You” and needed to have my main male character’s voice in there, too. That’s when I changed the title and added his voice into the first book. I think, compared to the original version, this one works much better.

Just like anything that you begin, you truly believe that it’s your best work and that it’s the best it’s ever going to be. That there is no room for improvement. Some people do little in the way of editing, believing that it’s some sort of race to get their book out as quickly as possible. Get rich quick scheme? Yeah, I don’t think so.

So, just because you have good writing skills and know how to type, does this make you a great fiction writer? Um, no, not necessarily.  Unless you are one of those rare people who can write well and about anything, it is a difficult job to do. If it were easy, everyone would be doing it. If you have a slight bit of talent, you can learn how to do it. But, it may take you years; not a couple of weeks.

As you write, it may take many years, and many manuscripts before you learn all the techniques for handling viewpoint, developed scenes and characters and an interesting storyline. If you don’t have well developed characters, or at least show some growth during the book, then your manuscript will fail.

But, as you continue and learn the craft of writing fiction, over time you will become happier with your results, seeing the beauty pop off the page into your reader’s mind.

Expect no miracles overnight. But have faith. If you keep at it, you can achieve some success. Of course, if you expect overnight success, be prepared for failure.

And, I didn’t even get this from a how-to book.

This entry was posted in Writing by Beth Muscat. Bookmark the permalink.

About Beth Muscat

I'm a wife, mother, writer and a blogger. I have five novels published at Amazon.com and a couple more in the works right now. I've got so many great friends that have helped me achieve my writing goals, and I've still got a lot to learn. They're all terrific people, some of them bestselling authors and some just starting out like me. I've got five books out as e-books: 1. "Wildflower" is a Contemporary Romance, a sexy love story about a younger man and an older woman 2. "Remember The Eyes" is a Paranormal Romance, and Book One in a series. 3. "Nothing Without You" is Book Two 4. "Infinite", is Book Three. Each book revolves around Riley and Michael, the love they share together and even the discoveries made with each other. 5. "The Bracelet", a Fantasy Romance about a woman torn between two worlds.

13 thoughts on “Don’t Expect Miracles

  1. Ah, that brings back memories … not necessarily good ones. I wrote so many manuscripts before I produced one that should ever see the light of day. I took three writing correspondence courses and quite literally have an entire bookcase filled with books on the subject. And you’re right, they often do contradict each other!

      • yeah, the best thing that ever happened to me was when I lost my oldest writing attempts to water damage!

  2. Know what you mean. I’ve read many ‘how-to’ books that have totally confused me. So I now I read them and choose what works for me. When I attend writing seminars, I do the same. With writing, it’s best to just go with your gut.

  3. So, so true! A lot of people give up on things because they want quick results or they produce something that is low quality, but success simply takes a combination of talent, hard work, and persistence.

  4. Beth,
    Wonderful blog piece, hon. 🙂 I really like it. So very true about this. And it is why I accept with an open mind and heart, critiques on my work. 🙂 it is good to accept critiques and advise to gain more knowledge on writing (and cool ideas, even, on writing) so to improve. 🙂

Leave a Reply

