Writing A Review

When I finish a book, I like to write a review of it. It doesn’t have to be a long review, but it’s nice to be able to write something and then post it on Amazon or wherever you bought the book, so that the writer can see how much you liked it, or disliked it as the case may be. Although I haven’t read too many bad books, I have given out some bad reviews before. I hate doing it, but sometimes it can’t be helped.

I usually take a couple of excerpts from the book and put it in my review, just so that the reader of the review can get a chance to see how the writer writes. I’ve read a few bad books before and although I wrote a review, the writing was so bad that I couldn’t find any passages that were even remotely good enough to put in the review itself. That’s pretty bad.

I also try not to give too much away in my review. I’m not going to tell you the ending of the book in the review because then you might not buy the book. Reviews should give you a subtle overview of the story without giving out the ending. I equate that with the way you feel in a movie line-up and the people coming out of the movie theatre start talking about the ending. Everyone hates that, so I’m not going to do it.

Giving out reviews for a book, whether it’s a good review or a bad review, helps to promote the book. Of course, a bad review won’t get you many readers, but it might help the writer of the book to understand where they went wrong with the book, therefore helping them with the next book that they write.

I’ve written reviews about books that had poor character development, a weak storyline and poor editing. I can live with a few spelling mistakes or a few words that are missing altogether, but when the editing is almost non-existent (meaning, it wasn’t done at all), then it doesn’t do well. Put all those factors together and you end up with a poor review. But, hopefully the writer would realize what they did wrong with the first book and not repeat it in the next one.

I’m a new novelist and I’m learning a lot along the way. I’ve surrounded myself with wonderful writers who have taught me the power of a great story. Writing reviews for the books that I’ve read has given me a whole new insight into writing as well.

I post my reviews in my blog, www.shamelessreviewsandpromotions.blogspot.com, on Amazon (because I have a Kindle) and then ‘like’ them to facebook, and then on Shelfari and Goodreads. “Liking” the links will get them out to more readers.

So, the next time you finish a book, write a review and post it. Good or bad, it helps the book, the reader and the writer.

This entry was posted in Reviews by Beth Muscat. Bookmark the permalink.

About Beth Muscat

I'm a wife, mother, writer and a blogger. I have five novels published at Amazon.com and a couple more in the works right now. I've got so many great friends that have helped me achieve my writing goals, and I've still got a lot to learn. They're all terrific people, some of them bestselling authors and some just starting out like me. I've got five books out as e-books: 1. "Wildflower" is a Contemporary Romance, a sexy love story about a younger man and an older woman 2. "Remember The Eyes" is a Paranormal Romance, and Book One in a series. 3. "Nothing Without You" is Book Two 4. "Infinite", is Book Three. Each book revolves around Riley and Michael, the love they share together and even the discoveries made with each other. 5. "The Bracelet", a Fantasy Romance about a woman torn between two worlds.

8 thoughts on “Writing A Review

  1. I also write reviews, particularly to help independents or lesser known authors. Great points. I won’t post anything less than a 3-star review, though, because I wouldn’t want to waste time reading the whole book, and I don’t want to embarrass the author in public. However, I do point out problems and warn of bad language, graphic scenes, or anything that might not appeal to a general audience. I wish more reviewers posted warnings.

  2. I agree, reviews are so important! Both good and bad I’d want to know what people think of my work. When leaving reviews for a bad book I try to still find something positive to say cause I know how sensitive I am at getting criticism. 🙂

  3. If an author is getting all rave reviews, there’s a good chance the reviewers are all friends or family members. Also, if if you see a review posted by someone who loves the author’s book but just signed up at the site the day the review was posted and hasn’t reviewed anything since, it’s either a friend, family member, or the author him/herself using an alias!

    And, as Joe Konrath recently posted on his blog, watch out for the book that’s got mostly 1 star reviews.

    • Excellent point, Norma! I agree with the last point. I believe that this author gave herself an excellent review…she wasn’t even imaginative with the name of the reviewer. That’s a red flag right there.

Leave a Reply

